Tune Tuesday

Two weeks in a row! Nice!

Go.

Song: Breakeven
Artist: The Script
Album: The Script

I was looking on my iTunes and realized that this song was the most played, so of course, it had to be featured on Tune Tuesday. Here’s the video to listen to while you read:

So this song is all about being in love and breaking up. You may be thinking, ‘Oh, just like every other song I know,’ but this song hits a different aspect: when one person is more upset about the relationship ending that the other, when the pain is unevenly distributed.

The song starts off with:

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a god that I don’t believe in
Coz I got time while she got freedom
Coz when a heart breaks no it don’t break even

The second line up there used to bother me, but I think it really just means that the person is so upset about the relationship ending, that they were so in love, that they’ll do anything to try and fix it (even try things they don’t normally try).

Here’s the chorus:

What am I suppose to do when the best part of me was always you?
What am I suppose to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces

So obviously the singer was really in love with the person and is still upset that the relationship ended. The next few verses continue to describe how one person is hurt while the other one has moved on. This line always seems to get me:

But no wise words gonna stop me bleeding

Love, or being in love, is so powerful that sometimes words just aren’t enough to describe or recover from it. Some of my readers (or all of them since most of them are family) know that love is an extremely important idea and characteristic to me (I’ll blog about that later…), so I enjoy listening to this song and the different view on love it represents.

End.

Tune Tuesday

Leave a Reply

