Little Words

I’ve recently discovered that I have this little thing for words. I’ve noticed that I’m really intrigued by simple words that have a deep, complex meaning.

For instance…

This small 4-letter word seems simple at first glance. Some say it often; some never say it. But think of all the ways we use the word. I love cupcakes. I love my family. I love the mountains. These are all different interpretations of the same little word. And then there’s my favorite Bible passage: 1 Cor. 13 where love is personified:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

My intrigue with this is one of the reasons it is now permanently located on my wrist.

I’ve come across another word that I am starting to enjoy…

What in the world is that you ask? This is the transliterated version of the Greek word “poivhma” which means God’s workmanship or artwork. I think it’s a lovely reminder that our God is an artist providing unique, meaningful pieces of artwork all around us (even you!). Think of how many things this word can be applied to…endless amounts.

Any others?

Little Words

2 thoughts on “Little Words

Leave a Reply

