Tune Tuesday

Long live Tune Tuesdays! They’ve been absent (along with me) for awhile and it’s time they return!

Go.

Song: Sigh No More
Artist: Mumford & Sons
Album: Sigh No More

Just play the video to hear the song! It’s a beauty.

So a few weeks ago, I was invited to a concert in Vancouver at the last minute. And boy, I’m glad I was able to go! First of all, one of the opening bands was comprised of two members of Keane, only one of my favorite bands ever! And second, I got to hear the fantastic Mumford & Sons!

This song begins in a slow and simple speed with reflective lyrics that hits a religious note from the start:

Serve God, love me and mend
This is not the end

I think the first line represents commandments from God: to serve and love God and changing our life to focus on this. The second is a reminder that where we are now is not all there is, so we shouldn’t be focused on things of this World.

Next, there is a simple, yet long and drawn-out apology which is symbolic of the confession and surrender of ourselves to God or “conversion” which can be difficult:

I’m sorry.

The next few lines seem to describe the conflict that occurs when trying to let go of ourselves and be honest about our intentions:

One foot in sea and one on shore
My heart was never pure

And then the song starts gaining energy as one line is repeated a few times. Despite the conflict, there is joy:

Oh man is a giddy thing

And the song starts overflowing with lovely melodies that describe the loveliest of concepts. The love and acceptance of Christ will never leave. It is always there, no matter what. And although it may seem like there is conflict in this “conversion,” like we have to give up too much or do too much, this is actually the one thing that will give you freedom:

Love it will not betray you
Dismay or enslave you, it will set you free

And this next line is my favorite. If you’re a reader, or know me, you know that I’m fascinated with the concept of love. And here my feelings are echoed. There is a want, a need, by us to see love as it was intended to be. Not seen the way the world confines it. But seen through the Cross. Selfless. Authentic. Meaningful.

There is a design, an alignment, a cry
Of my heart to see,
The beauty of love as it was made to be

And with this Love, we will not be empty. We will be filled with freedom.

End.

Sharing is caring.
Add to FaceBook Email Add to Twitter

Tune Tuesday

Leave a Reply

